A person who inspires me.

Screen Shot 2015-10-24 at 1.47.22 am

” I never met a bitter person who was thankful. Or a thankful person who was bitter.”

This is Nick, Nick Vujicic. He was born with no limbs and this came from a Tetra-Amelia syndrome, a rare disorder characterised by the absence of 4 limbs. He tried taking his life countless times when he was in his teen years,  but many times it failed. Maybe he heard god’s calling, that his life was too precious to be wasted away. Who would have thought that he would be born without limbs, only with a little feet that took over other parts of his limbs, to help him through daily activities. He had to learn how to write and maximise the ability of that feet, and even to help him swim. At age of 17, he started an organisation, “Life without limbs” and conducted motivational speeches which focused on life with a disability, hope and meaning of life for others.

I met Nick when I was about 14 or 15 years old, during an event, “National Young Leaders Day” back in secondary school years when I was still a student councillor. We were invited by Halogen Foundation, an organisation which teaches student leaders to perform better and master skills in leadership, to attend this session. I was taken aback when I see Nick on stage, after all spotlights were turned on after an intermission when it was pitch dark before. He laid on a table about 1.5 arms length wide, with a book at the side, and him lying on his stomach. I was shocked at what I saw, as it was my first time seeing someone with this rare disability. He showed us how he could utilise the book to allow him to stand, which he did, swiftly and effortlessly.

Nick inspired me a lot as he taught me what opportunities were, how we should grasp it every time I am given one, and to live it to the fullest, even if we know that we might fall. He taught me what were the right approaches to life, and how we should take chances. His words constantly reminds me of how fortunate I am and things should never be taken for granted. He was able to make me realise that I should also allow myself to look at the world at a different perspective, viewing things or issues, each at a time.

I recalled his speech then, about how powerful words can be, especially inspirational talks, that could make me cry at the spur of the moment. I knew how much I have done in my life, and that I can also do more in the years to come. It doesn’t hurt, to try and take on challenges, like he did. Because in the end, your success or achievements are not there for the others to see, but for yourself to know, that you’ve reached your goals, or the happiness you get from within, that is priceless.

Nick has truly been an inspiration to me, even till now.

One thought on “A person who inspires me.

  1. This is a brilliant extra post, Momo, as you describe your meeting with Nic, as you reflect on how his struggle to overcome the disability he was born with has inspired you to not just embrace life’s challenges but “look at the world at a different perspective.”

    Thank you so much for haring this!

    Like

Leave a comment